The Delhi Centrals (DC) registered their 7th victory in the TATA Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 after beating the Punjab Lords (PBKS) by 17 runs on Monday at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai. 

Mitchell Marsh’s splendid knock of 63 (48) and Shardul Thakur’s emotional four-gate haul powered DC to a vital 17- run palm. 

 Chasing 160 for palm, PBKS openers – Shikhar Dhawan and Jonny Bairstow were out to an atrocious launch with the club. 

Bairstow smacked a four and a six each before the nature drilled dead set the deep off Anrich Nortje. Shardul Thakur struck doubly in his first over to dismiss Rajapaksa and Dhawan as PBKS were54/3 at the top of 6 overs. 

PBKS lost the posterior three lattices in no time, courtesy of Kuldeep Yadav’s bowling brilliance, which followed after Axar Patel rattled the whole of commander Mayank Agarwal. 

While Livingstone was stumped within the 8th over, Harpeet Brar was castled by Yadav’s googly. PBKS were 8 down after Rishi Dhawan was gutted up by Axar Patel. 

 The hundred was over for PBKS after Jitesh Sharma dispatched his first six within the 15th over. Jitesh Sharma contended to 43 and PBKS needed 39 runs off 18 deliveries 

Shardul claimed two further lattices after Warner seized an amazing catch to dismiss Jitesh Sharma for 44 while Rabada drilled intent on the deep. 

 Only 3 runs were conceded within the penultimate over, sailed by Nortje as PBKS needed 26 off the ultimate over. Thakur gave down only 8 runs within the 20th over and DC registered a 17- run palm. 

 Before, DC, who was put into the club first, made two changes – Khaleel Ahmed and Sarfaraz Khan were named within the eleven. 

 David Warner was out on the primary ball after the left-handed nature was caught inside the circle off Livingstone’s bowling. The pressure of an early gate didn’t affect Mitchell Marsh and Sarfaraz Khan because the brace was handling boundaries. 

 The fifty cooperation was over for the alternate gate before Rahul Chahar seized a sky-high catch off Arshdeep Singh to dismiss Sarfaraz. DC were59/2 at the tip of the powerplay. 

 Marsh was joined by Lalit Yadav, who grated his first six of the innings within the 9th over and DC was were86/2 at the halfway stage. 

Arshdeep Singh deceived Yadav with a slower one to assert his alternate gate. Livingstone also beheaded two lattices to dismiss explosive batters Rishabh Pant and Rovman Powell. 

 DC was were116/5 with five overs to travel before Marsh reached his half-century because the right-handed batter kept the runs flowing from one end. 

 Rabada brought Marsh’s innings to an end after the DC each-rounder was caught at deep mid-wicket within the penultimate over. Arshdeep conceded only 7 runs within the final over including an advance of Shardul Thakur as DC posted159/7 within the first innings. 

 Detail Scores: Delhi Centrals 159/7 (Mitchell Marsh 63, Sarfaraz Khan 32; Liam Livingstone 3-27) beat Punjab Lords142/9 (Jitesh Sharma 44, Jonny Bairstow 28; Shardul Thakur 4-36) by 17 runs.