Match 66 of the TATA IPL 2022: KKR vs LSG – Match Report || TATA IPL


A high-scoring suspenser at the DY Patil Stadium! The Lucknow Super titans( LSG) secured their spot for the playoffs in the TATA Indian Premier League( IPL) 2022 after beating the Kolkata Knight Riders( KKR) by 2 runs on Wednesday at Navi Mumbai’s DY Patil Stadium Quinton de Kock’s monumental knock of 140 * and his record- unbeaten opening- stage of 210 with commander KL Rahul helped LSG secure a 2- run palm in a high- scoring suspenser. KKR lost Venkatesh Iyer’s gate in the first over, sailed by Mohsin Khan after Quinton de Kock took a fine diving catch behind the wholes. KKR also lost debutant Abhijeet Tomar’s gate after the right-handed batter was caught by commander KL Rahul inside the circle. KKR’s recovery was led by Nitish Rana and Shreyas Iyer, who led KKR’s recovery with an excellent counter-attacking fifty cooperation. Rana took the attacking route and smashed nine fours inside the powerplay, and KKR was were60/2 at the end of six overs. K Gowtham put an end to the dangerous cooperation after Rana drilled out too deep. Sam Billings joined commander Shreyas Iyer and was incontinently on the move with 2 fours and a six, and KKR were99/3 at the halfway stage. The fifty cooperation was over for the brace and KKR looked in control of the chase. In the 13th over, Mohsin Khan only gave up two runs. Marcus Stoinis broke the cooperation after Iyer was caught in the outfield and the KKR commander was out after scoring a quick-fire fifty. Avesh Khan sailed a brilliant over and only conceded 2 runs as KKR needed 77 off 30. LSG’s chances of palm increased after Ravi Bishnoi and Mohsin Khan dismissed explosive batters Billings and Russell, independently. KKR needed 21 off the final over after Rinku Singh and Sunil Narine added two fours and two sixes each, and KKR needed 21 off the final over. Rinku Singh hit two sixes and a four, but was caught and bowled for 40 runs by Evin Lewis. Marcus Stoinis castled Umesh Yadav with KKR taking 3 runs off the final delivery and LSG successfully defended the target.

Before, LSG, who decided to club first, made three changes – Manan Vohra, Evin Lewis, and K Gowtham were named in the eleven. LSG were out to a steady launch and were 3 down after Quinton de Kock got a reprieve and dispatched the first outside of the innings. LSG were44/0 at the end of the powerplay after commander KL Rahul smacked a six-over deep backward square leg. After Rahul punched successive sixes against Tim Southee, the openers switched gears and LSG were83/0 at the halfway mark. Both Quinton de Kock and commander KL Rahul reached their separate half-centuries, and the runs kept flowing at a rapid-fire pace from the LSG openers, who were dealing in boundaries. 18 runs came off the 16th over after de Kock clobbered two sixes and a four off Varun Chakaravarthy’s bowling and the 150 cooperation was over for the opening stage. De Kock reached his alternate IPL century with a four before the left-handed batter dispatched four clean strikes for six against Southee in the penultimate over. LSG reached 210 without the loss of any gate after de Kock smashed four fours in a row in the final over and sutured the loftiest- ever opening cooperation in the history of the season. Lucknow Super titans210/0( Quinton de Kock 140 *, KL Rahul 68 *, Sunil Narine0/27) beat Kolkata Knight Riders208/8( Shreyas Iyer 50, Rinku Singh 40, Mohsin Khan 3- 20) by 2 runs.